Click to Subscribe to My Feed

Subscribe to my feed and get updates on money making tips that work

Subscribe Using Your Email Address!

26
Jun

Adwords Phishing Email, Watch Out!

I just got this email in my inbox a couple days ago. On first glance it appears to be from Google (my pop3 doesn’t do html, so there is a screenshot of the webpage version of the email). Now look a bit closer:

Adwords Phishing

(the two circled screens gave it away, with Google your email is your password, and secondly, on the Adwords website, the copyright is just 2008 Google, not 2008 Google Adwords)

 

This then leads to a second screen, Source-Adwords.com/xxx-xxx (I am not including the end so no one gets caught by this for any reason). This is the first thing you should look at for phishing the domain. Adwords would not use a cheap domain name, they would just use their Google domain. This is obviously a fake, busted. It also didn’t hurt that my phishing filter popped up and warned me of it as well….. Another reason why Firefox kicks butt.

 

This is a strange thing for me being the first Adwords Phising email I’ve got. Have you guys ever got anything like this before?

Reddit Digg Facebook Technorati Google StumbleUpon Furl Yahoo Newsvine Mixx

Liked this post? Get your daily dose, subscribe to our RSS feed!

RSS feed | Trackback URI

5 Comments »

Comment by Rajaie AlKorani
2008-06-26 04:50:17

Usually get Paypal emails like this, even though I’m not a member, but never adwords.

Rajaie AlKoranis last blog post..Firebug, The Greatest Firefox Extension Ever

 
Comment by Big Ben Patton
2008-06-26 23:28:15

I have seen a few ebay as well as paypal emails like this. It is actually pretty scary to think that people are not doing their homework or just do not know any better than to use any links in an email instead of directly logging in to check things of this type of nature. All in the same karma catches up to those unscrupulous peoples throughout the world

Big Ben Pattons last blog post..Effectively Building Your RSS Subscription Numbers

 
Comment by Nick Throlson
2008-06-28 09:36:07

Wow thanks for the update on adwords email havent got any from them will keep an eye out ~Nick~

 
Comment by JK Swopes Subscribed to comments via email
2008-06-28 10:41:08

Yep, I just got this one as well, well, it was similar. What I do is look at the url that comes up. On all of these, I then go to the site to see how convincing it is, but, I already know it is a fake.

Some of them look pretty real, and would be hard for many users who don’t check the url.

People are always looking for those few that will give up their info…this one is scary as they will be able to run up ads on your account….sending them to their own products.

 
Comment by Hye Munar
2008-07-18 03:09:16

A lot of spam emails are really spreading everyday thus we should be very extra careful. I always receive a Paypal scam email and I just ignore it.

Hye Munars last blog post..Watch 2008 The Open Championship Online Free Live Streaming Video (Results, Highlights, Winner Predictions)

 
Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
URI
Subscribe to comments via email
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your comment.

Trackback responses to this post